About Us

The Department of Community Medicine was established in 1990 following the appointment of Professor Jock Anderson from Scotland as Chair of Community Medicine. It was renamed the Institute of Public Health (IPH) during May 2012.   

Dr. Iain Blair was appointed Interim Director of the Institute of Public Health with effect of June 2012, following in the footsteps of Prof. Tar-Ching Aw who was Director of IPH and Chair of the former Department of Community Medicine from 2007 to 2012.  Prof. Aw was appointed Dean of the College of Medicine and Health Sciences during June of 2012.

Dr. Blair comes with impeccable credentials obtained from a life long career in Public Health practice in the UK.  He also serves as Director of the Global Health Institute of the UAEU, Director of the UAEU Master of Public Health programme, and an external examiner for the University of Malaya in Kuala Lumpur.

IPH includes academic, scientific and support staff from various clinical and scientific disciplines in preventive medicine.  They teach and supervise medical undergraduates of the UAE University, organize and deliver continuing professional development activities for post-graduates, undertake research and provide expert advice on prevention.  Our staff have special interest and expertise in the fields of public health, accident prevention, epidemiology, biostatistics and occupational medicine.  Close links are maintained with other University Departments, the Preventive Medicine Department of the Ministry of Health in Al Ain, the Ministry of Health in Dubai, local and national hospitals, the petroleum industry, local and national municipalities, and local and national government agencies.  Close links have been developed with the Health Authority of Abu Dhabi, the Road Traffic Police division in Al Ain, ADCO (Abu Dhabi Company for Onshore Oil Operations), and Dubai Petroleum. 

Head of the Institute of Public Health (IPH)

Interim Director
Dr. Iain Blair (from June 2012)

Former Chairs
Professor Tar-Ching Aw (Chair 2007-2012)
Dr. Fatma Al-Maskari (Acting Chair 2005-2007)
Professor Richard Reed (Acting Chair 2004-2005)
Dr. Graham Nicol (2001–2004)
Professor Owen Lloyd (1993–2000)
Professor Jock Anderson (1990-1993)